Posted by: purrjen | February 23, 2009

JOTR – One Mile Dash : New Year Bash (31Dec)

 

logo1

 

The running group that I am proud to be with, Team Hyper Giler (THG) had booked a suite at the Parkroyal KL for the convenience of gathering, boozing and not forgetting running. Yes…running on new year’s eve. The One Mile Dash made its debut this year for a 1.5km from Heritage Row towards Dataran Merdeka.  

11 

 

As we all know there’s no way anyone would be driving in the streets of KL on new year’s eve with the number of humans jam thinking their grandfather owns the road.  So we decided to do a warmup jog to our starting point. If you saw 6 joggers on the streets from Sungai Wang, passing Hard Rock Café at 730pm that’s us. Oh..i started singing Auld Lang Syne too..hahah…hey I had good company.

 

2

At the starting point, we started scouting our competition. There’s always no such luck for the guys when the Kenyans are running. Thankfully for the girls, the Kenyan runner was in a different age group. So it was just down to me & Michelle. It’s kinda difficult sprinting when you’re a distance runner. We’re so use to controlling our pace to be able to survive thru the distance rather that pushing it all out from the start till  the end.

32

 

When the gun went off, fuiyoh…I see the guys only for like 5secs and that was it. I was their dust.  Running along Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman was so-so. Focus was just straight ahead. Few supporters clapping with encouragement while passing Sogo & my favourite textile shop, Kamdar. Michelle was just about 25meters ahead of me. Seeing her looking back a few times made me smile. Hey, I wasn’t laughing at her. Just that there’s a kiasu-ness in all of us.

4

 

Passing the finale arch was great. I’ve always loved racing at night. No complains about the weather. We had to wait for the 3rd winner before prize giving ceremony. Woohoo!! Free Crocs. And I was making noise beforehand that the volunteers (who don’t have to pay $$$) gets free Crocs while the runners (paid registration) gets nothing. Plus the comparison of medal size between the finishers & winners was entertaining. We stopped for a bowl of Beef Balls Noodles for dinner and Jalan Alor for their famous Fried Chicken Wings before heading back to the hotel for our countdown.

 

The next day, I went to Crocs Subang Parade branch to collect my free crocs. Too bad limited colours available and only 1 type of style applicable.  (http://www.crocs.com.my/footwear.php) but heck, its free. There’s no way I was gonna pay RM129 for a bloody pair of slippers that’ll make me look like Ronald McDs.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Responses

  1. no way u’ll pay, but in the end, u still look like ronald… nyek nyek nyek


Leave a comment

Categories